Frank Ocean released a visual album called Endless and a video for a new single called “Nikes.” Now, he’s unveiled another new album. It’s called Blonde.

(In the long lead-up to the album’s reveal, it was known as Boys Don’t Cry.) It features “Nikes,” as well as songs titled “Ivy” and “White Ferrari.” (The album title is stylized Blond on the cover artwork, but appears as Blonde in Apple Music).

In the lead-up to the album’s release, it’s been a series of teased dates and false starts. In late 2013, Ocean hinted that an album would arrive the following summer. Last year, he teased a July release date. Most recently, The New York Times reported that the album and an accompanying print publication would arrive on August 5. Now, there’s no more waiting, and he put out two albums.

Update : As some magazine-holders have noted, the tracklist for Blonde listed in the magazine is different from the one that was released on Apple Music. Perhaps even more credence to his mysterious Tumblr post: “I got two versions.” The magazine tracklist does not include “Nikes.”


Post a Comment